Today it is Saturday, 9th September 2017

Was very tired after a full day workshop, so when I came home I napped. When I woke up, I thought, I needed to make mooncakes because the mooncake season would be ending soon so i took a free ride (thanks to grab $6 promos) to ang mo kio’s phoon huat to get my supplies.

thank God for the experience of making 1) baked mooncakes, 2) snowskin mooncake, although i forgot to buy shortening for the snowskin mooncake. I really enjoy making baked mooncakes, they are so fun to see coming to fruition

these are the recipes I attempted to use:

http://www.noobcook.com/traditional-baked-mooncakes/

http://www.noobcook.com/snowskin-mooncakes/

 

note to self;

  • vary the flour/ red bean paste according to size of my mold, which is not the same as that of the recipe
  • for snowskin,  i need shortening. missing out one ingredient destroys everything
  • good to wear gloves, because the flour can be very very sticky and difficult to clean up
  • (i didn’t know this and discovered this today), that food colouring can actually stain my clothing! and can’t be washed off easily. note to self: use an apron and be very careful when using food colouring

IMG_1197IMG_1200IMG_1201

Leave a comment